Rambling on….

about anything under the Sun!

And the angel turns 2!

Dear V,
You walked into our life (Well, more like crawled at that point) a little over 6 months ago, and since then, you’ve really been the center of it all. And how fantastic that change has been! Life seems to have a higher purpose now, a lot more meaning than academic excellence, corporate accomplishments and material gains – things that were so important at one point all seem so trivial in comparison now. I know I was told to always expect that, but actually experiencing that change has been very fulfilling (one of the classic ironies in life, I guess!) and humbling.

Well, today, my dear little angel, you turn 2 and A and I couldn’t be more thrilled that you have accepted us and allowed us into your life. You have given us more joy and satisfaction in these last 6 months than we have ever experienced, and for that, we can’t thank you enough. I know it was all very confusing when you stepped in the door – and I am sure you wondered who these strange people were, why you were in their house and when this ordeal was going to end. I truly hope those fears have now settled. I know the early months were a little rough, but I want to assure you that you are now in a safe and secure place, a home where we deeply care about you and where your mom and I plan to utilize every ounce of our strength and energy to give you the happiness and the joy that you so fully deserve. We are very proud of you, sweetie, you are such a pleasure to be around, so effortlessly bringing a smile to people’s faces. I am thrilled that you are not shy, that you mix so well with people. And I am speechless when I see how brave you are – whether it was feeling at home from day One, or allowing Zoey into your life, or even going off to school all on your own right from the start. When you trip and fall and hurt yourself, I am so overwhelmed that you are able to shake it off quickly and move on as if nothing happened. I sometimes wish I had the strength and resolve that you do – as you can tell, I am trying to learn from you on that front. I mean that will all my heart.

I know Appa has his imperfections, so trust him when he says he is working on those – but on the bright side, you have such a wonderful and caring Amma that more than makes up for all of that and more. And if that isn’t enough, you have an equally caring set of grandparents too – mummymma, paatti and the 2 thathas, and an amazingly loving circle of friends and family. You will soon get to know them personally and see how much they all adore you. And together, we all look forward to the many more milestones we will celebrate and cherish with you. Thank you for accepting us into your fold, dear V, and making our lives so much more meaningful and worthwhile. Happy Birthday, my darling!

3 responses to “And the angel turns 2!

  1. Bubble Catcher July 19, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Thanks for stopping by. I see that your angel too turned 2 on July 17th 🙂
    Happy Birthday to the little one.
    These angels bring magic into our lives, don’t they?
    BTW another coincidence is that we have a lab too(she happens to the elder daughter in our case ;))

  2. cw July 19, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Happy birthday V! hope you had a fun day!

  3. kabini July 20, 2010 at 3:17 am

    @BubbleCatcher: Yes, thank you. Couldn’t agree more on the magic.
    lovely coincidence – speaking of magic, Labs have some magic of their own, don’t they? 🙂 I ran into another blogger that doesn’t just have a Lab, her name is Zoey too. What are the odds? 🙂

    @CW: Thanks – she sure did, and she seems to think the birthday still continues 🙂

Leave a Reply

