Rambling on….

about anything under the Sun!

Dogs – Get yourself one!

So, we’ve had a bunch of visitors at home lately, and surprisingly, a lot of them seem to be absolutely terrified of dogs. The reason that matters is because we have a 16-month old black Lab at home, Zoey. She is the effusive kind, and simply loves to show her affection by jumping all over you – clearly she means no harm, but the passion and energy with which she chooses to express herself, she can easily unnerve the strongest and bravest of souls. So I can understand the fear in their eyes when the first see her, the hesitation in their step as they enter the house – and I find myself telling them, “Oh don’t worry, she means no harm…she is a real softie.” Judging by their reaction, I think its safe to say that they aren’t buying it. I wouldn’t say it if I don’t believe it, and so it pains me that some of these folks insist on having us lock Z up in a room while they are around – its like asking me to lock up someone that we treat as family, but what do you do? I guess I can understand their fear – after all, I used to be terrified of dogs until we got her home and can distinctly remember having asked one of my friends who had a pair of dogs to confine them behind closed doors while I was visiting. I was “uncomfortable” around dogs – really, that just means I was afraid, and I felt it right to have them locked up so they wouldn’t devour me alive. Now, looking back and after my experience with our own, I am ashamed that I had acted that way – I really should have made an effort. I think what changed was having Z grow up with us – she was 2 months old when she came home and having her around all the time and watching her grow from the tiny baby that she was certainly made things easier.

Now, I feel pretty good about myself that I have made it to the other side – and I have my wife to thank for convincing me that we should get a pup home and for helping me wade through the initial days of uncertainty, but after having crossed over, I can fully appreciate what a phenomenally life-changing experience owning a dog is. The constant supply of selfless love, the “i-dont-care-how-mad-you-get-at-me-i’ll-still-love-you-the-same” look in their eyes, their obvious euphoria when they watch you step in the house (even if you’ve only been gone 10 minutes, they act like they’ve missed you for years – it does wonders for your ego, I assure you), their innate ability to make you feel good no matter how gloomy things are, those are all just the perks. Having her around has so enhanced the feel-good factor, I highly recommend those of you that are considering adopting a pup going ahead and actually doing it. And for the rest of you, give them a chance – you won’t regret it, you will be quite surprised at how much a part of you they become and wishing you had actually done this a long time ago. Trust me, you’ll absolutely enjoy the attention they give you

On a somewhat unrelated note, here is a cool iPad review video that I thought a true dog-lover might enjoy. I know I did!

One response to “Dogs – Get yourself one!

  1. rads June 17, 2010 at 4:07 am

    Nice! Very convincing I must say. 🙂

    Maybe I should get my husband to read this..

Leave a Reply

